~Being Successful in Basketball~

Starting Off

Here I was just starting off playing Basketball a local church at about age 5. I was honestly the best on my team. But I obviously didn’t have the best shot in the world! I could barley even make a layup! But when I was on the court I just loved playing so much. I was just happy to be on the court and not even scoring a bucket. My dad would always want to go to the gym and I would come because he would say that we could shoot basketball. I always loved playing basketball and I was kind of blessed with athletic abilities but I was overall kind of decent for my age! As I got a little older I kept playing basketball.

Growing Up

I got older and started to get more competitive and grow in size and knowledge! I started playing AAU and School basketball. When I started AAU it was very hard and different than the competition I was used to. I kept working on my game and getting used to all the things I was experiencing. I kept at it and became very good but like always I wasn’t ” good enough”.

Hard work Pays off

I thought about the saying” not good enough” I took all of my anger and put it into the one thing I knew I wanted. That something was making the middle school basketball team. I moved homes in the summer to house that had a basketball court in the backyard! Perfect timing! My goal was to work my head off on shooting and dribbling. From day one we moved in to my new home I was out there! Most everyday you would the pound of the ball. My dad and I worked a lot on shooting and by the end of Summer I was making most every open shot that I got. I was ready for tryouts. I didn’t know anyone who was trying out because of me moving schools. I knew I had to bring everything that I had. I did just that and the coach noticed me! He said very good things about me. I finally got feedback from him and he said that he wanted me on the team and that made it! I was so excited. But that doesn’t mean my tourney is over.

References: Photo 1: Basketball on finger

Photo 2: Playing a pickup game

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *